I’ve never made pulled pork and wanted to try it for meals this week.  I took ideas from two pulled pork recipes on the net (About.com) and as one should, I changed it to make it my own 🙂

Crock Pot Pulled Pork Recipe:

1 4lb pork shoulder

1 large white onion, thinly sliced

2 16.9oz bottles of Dr. Pepper

1 16oz bbq sauce of your choice ( I used Guy Fieri’s Bourbon and Brown Sugar)

Slice onions.  Put half of them in the bottom of your crock pot.  Put the pork shoulder (Trim the fat 1st if you wish to, I didn’t) in the crock pot.  Put the rest of the onions over and around the pork roast.  Pour in both bottles of Dr. Pepper.  Turn your crock pot on the LOW setting and allow to cook for 9 to 11 hours.

Pour contents of the crock pot into a colander and allow liquid to drain off.  Shred the pork inside the colander(Throw away any pieces of fat after you’ve removed the meat) with a fork (It’s really easy to do when the pork is completely cooked) and put back into the crock pot.  Pour jar of bbq sauce over the pork and stir until all pieces are coated.  Turn crock pot back on the LOW setting for 3 hours.  Stir occasionally.

It turned out beautifully and is quite delicious!!  I put a small amount of pulled pork on a slice of flax & whole grain bread as a snack and for dinner I had pulled pork on brown rice with a side of vegetables.  Not to mention the multiple spoonfuls that I had in between that 🙂

